Prairie Region Convention Report


During the 5th Prairie Region Triennial Convention in Winnipeg, Manitoba from June 10-12, delegates re-elected Sister Robyn Benson as Regional Executive Vice-President. Sister Benson has held this position since 2000.

Prior to serving as REVP, Sister Benson worked for 20 years with the Winnipeg Taxation Centre of Canada Revenue Agency. Her union involvement dates back to the 1980 strike by the Clerical and Regulatory (CR) bargaining unit when she was a term employee. She has held a variety of union positions including Regional Vice-President in the Union of Taxation Employees (UTE).

Delegates also re-elected Sister Marianne Hladun to the position of Alternate REVP. Sister Hladun has been with the Prairie Region Council since it’s inception, first in the role of Geographic Rep for North Saskatchewan, then as Alternate REVP since 2008.

Delegates adopted many resolutions including one to establish a National Bullying Awareness Campaign, and developing strategies to empower and train PSAC locals and their members to deal effectively with individual and institutional workplace bullying.

Also elected at Convention were the various representatives on the Prairie Region Council (PRC). The Area Council Reps were elected at their respective Area Council meetings prior to Convention.

The elected PRC Reps and their alternates are as follows:

Council Position Representative Alternate
REVP Robyn Benson  
Alternate REVP Marianne Hladun  
Racially Visible Rep Imy Bhatty Vimbai Dune
Southern SK Rep Jennifer Borean Steven Van Opstal
Young Workers Rep Amanda-Rose Bourget David Fandrich
Regina AC Rep Shaun Brennand Satinder Bains
PWD Rep Dave Burchell Deb Sutton
Northern AB Rep Jerad Cooper Jo Chelick
Aboriginal Peoples Rep Alex George Gary Sparvier
Calgary AC Rep Alec Goertzen  
Prince Albert AC Rep Tim Hogan Denni Nelson
GLBT Rep Timothy Hunt Garth Caron
RWC Rep Nancy Johnson Karon Sackney
NW MB Rep Glen Johnston Jeff Fisher
SE MB Rep Gloria Kelly Clint Wirth
Seperate Employer Rep Chad Kemery Clint Wirth
Southern AB Rep Kevin King David Fandrich
Edmonton AC Rep Nina Kiviluoma Dave Burchell
DCL Rep Fran Mohr Petrina Runns
Northern SK Rep Denni Nelson Larry Schlosser
Saskatoon AC Rep Jackie Nettleton Nancy Johnson
Westman AC Rep Susan Norman  
Lethbridge AC Rep David Pearson Greg Krokrosh
Winnipeg AC Rep Matt Tijani