Human Rights Committee AGM Minutes (May 5, 2015)

Meeting Minutes Regina Human Rights Committee AGM
Date: May 5, 2015

Public Service Alliance of Canada
Regina Human Rights Committee
Annual General Meeting May 5, 2015
In attendance:
Satinder Bains    Tim Hubick        Sandra Ahenakew        Brett Pollard
Marlene Holl        Michelle Lang    Daniela Aubichon        Gerrard Dillman
Michael Schell    Amber Maxie        Richard Dolinski        Diane Allen
Keith Hanson via phone
Call to Order:
Michael Schell called the meeting to order at 6:43 p.m. followed by roundtable introductions.
1:    Approval of the Agenda
Brett Pollard moved adoption of Agenda (M) with revision to hold a special meeting to look at the finances for 2014 as they are not available at this time and his motion was seconded by Michelle Lang (S).
The finances meeting will take place May 20, 2015 at 5:30 p.m. at the PSAC office.
Sandra Ahenakew moved to adopt 2014 AGM minutes and Brett Pollard seconded.
Michael said the committee didn’t spend much money in 2014 and he will report on that at the May 20, 2014 meeting.
2:    Review and approval o the 2014 AGM Minutes
Richard Dolinski moved to accept minutes from March 26, 2014 AGM, Marlene Holl seconded.


3:    Report of the Chair
    Verbal report
4:    2014 Financial Statements
    Deferred to May 20, 2015
5:    Election of Officers
    Nominations for Chair:
    Michael Schell nominated by Richard Dolinski seconded by Tim Hubick
    Brett Pollard nominated by Satinder Baines seconded by Richard Dolinski
    Sandra Ahenakew nominated by Gerrard Dillman seconded by Michael Schell
    Marlene Holl nominated by Brett Pollard seconded by Gerrard Dillman
    Michael and Sandra declined to let their names stand.

    Nominations for Vice-Chair
    Marlene Holl nominated by Satinder Baines seconded by Tim Hubick
    Michael Schell nominated by Sandra Ahenakew seconded by Amber Maxie
    Both let their names stand

    Nominations for Treasurer
    Amber Maxie nominated by Michael Schell seconded by Satinder Baines
    Marlene Holl nominated by Richard Dolinski seconded by Tim Hubick
    Both let their names stand.

    Nominations for Secretary
    Sandra Ahenakew nominated by Richard Dolinski seconded by Tim Hubick
Daniela Aubichon nominated by Satinder Baines seconded by Sandra Ahenakew
Satinder Baines nominated by Marlene Holl seconded by Brett Pollard
Satinder and Daniela declined to let their names stand.

6:    Other Discussion
Michael Schell – please come to the May 20th meeting we will be brainstorming ideas for activities and events we can participate in possibly sponsor. Examples: community outreach, education, lunch and learns, special meeting with guest speakers.
We need to support this committee we are supposed to have 4 meetings per year – we have to keep momentum going as this is a federal election year.
We have limited funds to work with. I encourage attendance; let’s make this committee a priority.

Meeting adjourned at 6:45