Edmonton Human Rights Committee AGM Minutes (January 15, 2020)

The Human Rights Committee discuss issues and plan events relating to PSAC’s Indigenous, Persons With Disabilities, LGBTQ2+ and Racially Visible caucus members. Check out these minutes for current actions and events!

Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC)
Edmonton Human Rights Committee
General Meeting
January 15th, 2020  
PSAC Edmonton RO

In attendance: 

Denise Gugel, Vice Chair                                                                                    
Mildred Ncube, Treasurer                                                                                      
Dragana Ristivojevic, Secretary                                                  
Steve Sukhbir                                                                     
Deb Basaraba
Kim Cardinal   
Addie Greer 
Charmaine Nelson       

PSAC Staff:

Carm Chan, Regional Rep

Welcome/Call to Order – Denise Gugel called meeting to order at 6:30 pm.

Election for HR Executive:


Charmaine Nelson nominates Steve Sukhbir

Mildred Ncube seconds the nomination

Steve Sukhbir is elected.

Vice Chair:

Charmaine Nelson nominates Mildred Ncube

Steve Sukhbir seconds the nomination

Mildred Ncube is elected


Steve Sukhbir nominates Addie Greer

Denise Gugel seconds the nomination

Addie Geer is acclaimed


Denise Gugel nominates Dragana Ristivojevic

Addie Greer seconds the nomination

Dragana Ristivojevic is elected

Election for Committee Delegate for the Prairie Region Convention

Charmaine Nelson nominates Mildred Ncube

Deb Basaraba seconds the nomination

Mildred Ncube is elected.


Denise Gugel nominates Addie Greer

Charmaine Nelson seconds the nomination

Addie Greer is elected

Signing Authority:

We request and authorize the bank to remove the current names, whom held signing authority in 2019. They are as follows:   Mavis Calihoo (Chair) Denise Gugel (Vice Chair) and Carm Chan PSAC Regional Representative.

We request and authorize the bank to add the following names whom have been elected and approved by this committee to hold signing authority. The newly executive for 2020 are as follows:  Steve Sukhbir (Chair), Mildred Ncube (Vice Chair), Adeleen Greer.

Motion to destroy ballots by Kim Cardinal, seconded by Denise Gugel – motion passed.

Denise Gugel adjourned the meeting at 7:05